In which distance increases and speed decreases

I figured I shouldn’t post again until I had run farther than the last post, and it turns out that took a few weeks… Then I got sucked into proposal-writing hell for a while.  I’m not saying that’s over, but here we go anyway.

The week after my last race, I went out for my next long run.  I’ve started running for time rather than distance, and my goal was to add half an hour, so ~3:30, 16ish miles.  Poor trail choice meant that 3:50 got me 14 miles, same distance as the week before but almost an extra hour.  OK, it was a beautiful trail, just not a fast one (the trail’s slow, not me 🙂 ).  We ran on Beaver Brook, which is a bit rough, and has a lot of sections that I would not consider to be runnable, say because you need to use your hands to get over the boulders etc (although I do see people running those sections… that’s Colorado for ya).   It is a great trail overlooking Clear Creek and Centennial Cone, and it’s only a mile and a half (of other trail) from my house, so I can’t complain too much.  We had a good time.

The next weekend was a recovery week, so I did an easy, flat run on a dirt road in Wyoming.  9.5 miles in 1:45… so my pace varies a bit.  It is amazing how much flatter it is once you get out of the front range.

This past Sunday, we went to Cenntenial Cone, on the other side of Clear Creek, for another long run.  That is a nice mountain bike trail so it’s all runnable, smooth singletrack.  The plan was to run for 4:20, adding a half hour to the previous again, and I actually stuck to that this time (finished in 4:27) for a total distance of 18 miles.  That was my farthest run by 4 miles, and it felt like it…  This run definitely played to my packrat nature, as the weather was a bit sketchy, Oregon-style drizzle and clouds with a chance of afternoon thunderstorms, and I wasn’t sure I would be finished by “afternoon” (which can start at 11AM sometimes).  Toberer had previously made fun of me for how heavy my hydration pack is, and this time I carried several hooded jackets, a sweater, lots of food and water, phone, SPOT, extra insoles (which I was very glad to have at about mile 12), and I don’t even remember what else.  I’m not really a “fast and light” person, despite owning lots of GoLite stuff.

We didn’t actually get rained on until about a minute after we got in the car, and there was only thunder for about the last ten minutes of running, so it turned out to be beautiful running weather.  We took our visiting student from Denmark, Anders, with us on the run.  This is what I love about Scandinavians: we asked him if he wanted to go run for four and a half hours, and he was like, “sure, I’ve never run anywhere near that far before, but it sounds fun.  Guess I should buy a CamelBak.”  And then when he was waiting for me to finish, he added on a extra two-mile out and back on a very steep hill “to make it an even 20.”  The next day he wasn’t even sore, and I’ve been gimping around for the last four days!

FYI, Kendra: I can now say with certainty that even when chronically covered in Gu and sweat, my iPhone works just fine!

Here’s a summary of my progress, because we all love to graph things:

Not a lot of time left, and I am still most definitely behind on my training.  Time to go run Bergen Peak and see if I can at least have decent total mileage for the week.

One thought on “In which distance increases and speed decreases

  1. Yay!!! Is trail running still fun? I'm very supportive of this running on time plan. The only times I'm really sticking to miles these days are when I'm actually running the race (ie Wasatch) course or when I'm on the road. Training how to slog slowly through technical stuff for 4 hours can be just as valuable as training to move moderately for 4 hours on an "easy" trail.Kendra, I can add another qualitative data point to your iPhone vs. Gu/Sweat study:-) iPhone covered in Gu just seams sticky, iPhone covered in sweat is salty, but sweat in the microphone/speaker = no bueno… seems to dry out though.

Leave a Reply

