Spike’s 2012 in photos

I was inspired by Adele who was inspired by Jill to do a 2012 photos post.  When comparing my posts to theirs, please do remember I live in a swamp and not in the mountains!

Image

January- I had some success at work, and celebrated the only way I know how, by buying a new bike!  Meet Pierre the Peugeot.

Image

February- In February I ran the Gainesville Half marathon.  Here, you can see my pre-race tradition of laying out all of my clothes the night before.  You can also see the breakfast of champions, a snickers bar.

Image

March- By the time March rolled around, I had been riding Pierre around a lot and had run a Half Marathon. In light of this I spent the month eating girl scout cookies.  Yum!

Image

April-  After eating all of those cookies in March, I figured I had to get back in shape via marathon training.  This time I had an amazing 18 mile run while visiting with friends in New Orleans for the French Quarter music festival.

Image

May- I took a trip out to San Diego to enjoy some coastal California fun, and to meet Barlo’s newest addition to the family, meet Aaron.

Image

June- June was a bit of a strange month. Originally, I was supposed to run a marathon in mid-May, but had to cancel due to a bout of tonsillitis and a 103 degree fever.  So my back up marathon became the Rock n’ Roll Seattle marathon.  In early June, I got to go to Sydney, Australia for work and while there went on an incredibly beautiful 19 mile loop run, most of which was along the coast.

Image

July- July involved rock climbing and sea kayaking in Thailand.  This is a photo from Railay Beach, a place I had always stared at photos of longingly in the climbing magazines.

Image

August- I did what any reasonable person who lives 100 feet above sea level would do.   I went to Colorado and ran the Aspen Backcountry Marathon, where the lowest point (aka the starting line) was at 8000 feet in elevation.

Image

September- In full disclosure, the August run was just to prove that I wouldn’t die at altitude and was all part of my training to pace Jeanni in the Wasatch 100.

Image

October- I took a trip out to Colorado to visit Toberer and Adele, and got to enjoy the first snowfall of the season, trail runs, snowshoeing, and Golden City Brewery.

Image

November- ran the Savannah Rock n’ Roll Half marathon with friends.

Image

December- My second trip down under of 2012, this time to visit my sister who recently moved to Perth.  Here, I was able to dip my toes and run along the Southern Ocean, the 4th of the worlds 5 oceans I was able to run along this year including the Atlantic, Pacific, and Indian Oceans.

One thought on “Spike’s 2012 in photos

Leave a Reply

